For the first time, BAVS has awarded a prize for the best second monograph published that year in Victorian studies.

The winner for this year is Jen Manion’s Female Husbands: A Trans History (Cambridge University Press) with an honourable mention for Rachel Teukolsky’s Picture World: Image, Aesthetics and Victorian New Media (Oxford University Press).

BAVS marked the event with a Zoom session on 28 July 2021 when Jen Manion discussed her book with a group of scholars. Click here to watch the recording.

Female Husbands

Cover for Picture World